exursions Tour the 4 Baroque Towns of the Val di Noto

Fontane Bianche Trip Overview

Discovering the four Baroque cities of Val di Noto, private tour of Scicli, Ragusa Ibla, Modica and Noto.

Additional Info

Duration: 8 hours
Starts: Fontane Bianche, Italy
Trip Category: Cultural & Theme Tours >> Cultural Tours

Explore Fontane Bianche Promoted Experiences

What to Expect When Visiting Fontane Bianche, Sicilia, Italy

Discovering the four Baroque cities of Val di Noto, private tour of Scicli, Ragusa Ibla, Modica and Noto.

This is a typical itinerary for this product

Stop At: Scicli, Scicli, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

“The city of Scicli rises at the intersection of three valleys, with houses on all sides on the cliffs, a large square at the bottom straddling a stream, and ancient ecclesiastical buildings that crown the semicircle in several points, such as baroque acropolis of the altitudes … “
Scicli is 24 kilometers from Ragusa. Its municipal territory extends from the sea to the southern offshoots of the Hyblaean plateau. The landscapes are very varied: you pass from the coast (alternating the low and sandy one with modest limestone cliffs) covered by the Mediterranean scrub to the sweet slopes of alluvial origin of the hinterland with olive, almond and carob trees up to the limestone hills of the northern part and in which the capital is located.
The municipal area is crossed by various watercourses which all have a torrential and almost seasonal nature except for the Irminio; the other main streams intercept the center of Scicli and are the Mothucanus or Modica-Scicli stream.

Duration: 2 hours

Stop At: Ragusa Ibla, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily Italy

After the earthquake of 1693, the city of ancient Ragusa was rebuilt by implementing construction sites that produced works, buildings and monuments of late Baroque style. In it there are 14 of the 18 monuments of the city of Ragusa today registered in the world heritage.

The ancient city contains over fifty churches and numerous Baroque-style palaces. In the eastern part, there is the Hyblaean Garden and there are also the excavations of an ancient city that according to various historians would be identifiable with the Hybla Heraia.

In 1866 the district was administratively detached from the rest of the city, becoming an autonomous municipality with the name of Ragusa Inferiore, a name that it kept until 1922 when it was changed to Ragusa Ibla [2]. In 1927, on the occasion of the elevation to the provincial capital of the city of Ragusa, the two municipalities were reunited. [3]
Ragusa Ibla is also home to some important ancient events and traditions such as Ibla Buskers, Ibla Grand Prize, the feast of the patron.

Duration: 2 hours

Stop At: Modica, Modica, Province of Ragusa, Sicily

Modica (Muòrica in Sicilian) is an Italian town of 54 169 inhabitants of the Free Municipal Consortium of Ragusa in Sicily. The city by population is the thirteenth municipality in Sicily and the 124th in Italy, while it is 11th among the Sicilian municipalities by extension of its territory, and 41st among all the municipalities of Italy.
City of Neolithic origins, Modica is the historical capital of the territory almost corresponding to the Free Municipal Consortium of Ragusa. Until the nineteenth century it was the capital of a county that exercised a vast political, economic and cultural influence, so much so that it was counted among the most powerful fiefdoms in the south. As a legacy of a lost political centrality, it remained the fourth most important city in Sicily (after Palermo, Catania and Messina) until the first half of the twentieth century [2] and is still a fundamental point of reference for the south-eastern territory of ‘island.
Modica boasts a rich repertoire of gastronomic specialties.

Duration: 2 hours

Stop At: Noto, Noto, Province of Syracuse, Sicily

Noto (Nuòtu in Sicilian) is an Italian town of 24 109 inhabitants [1] of the free municipal consortium of Syracuse in Sicily. It is the first Sicilian municipality and the fourth Italian by territorial extension (555 km²).
Episcopal seat, defined the “capital of the Baroque” [2], in 2002 its historic center was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, together with the other late Baroque cities of the Val di Noto.

Duration: 2 hours

Compare Fontane Bianche Similar Experiences